Latest blog post

Don’t punish old trials and former customers

A common pattern in SaaS apps is to allow a free trial period of 2 weeks or 1 month, and then to require a credit card to use it any longer.

Either out of curiosity or out of a genuine need for a tool that some SaaS service is offering, I will often sign up for a free trial soon after learning about it in order to check it out. For a variety of reasons by the time the free trial is up, I’m not ready to purchase.

It could be because I was just poking around. But more often it’s because I got too busy. Or my reason for signing up didn’t stay a high enough priority to be ready to purchase and fully implement some solution. Or maybe because the product just wasn’t far enough developed to satisfy what I was looking for.

What I find happening is that 3, 6, 12, or 18 months later I’ll find myself thinking about this tool. Perhaps the problem that led me to originally check out tools of the service has become more pressing than ever before. Or perhaps I’m fed up with another tool I chose, and am searching again for a better option. Or I’m hoping that the product has evolved more. Or whatever.

When logging back into your previously-created account, what you typically see is something like this:

Your free trial expired. Please enter your credit card to continue.

At this point, it’s far too easy to just close the tab. I’ve done it many times, even when I actually was in need (and willing to purchase) a tool in their category.

Savvy users will email the site’s sales or support team and can usually get a trial extended, but this often takes a few hours, which sucks. When a user gives you enough attention to want to check out your product right now, you should always take advantage of that. It’s too easy for that attention to get lost if you make the user wait.

Similarly some users will just use another email address, which is really bad for understanding your marketing funnel and metrics, and is a bad user experience overall. Plus, this may mean losing whatever progress was made on the first trial.

Let’s stop punishing our older trials.

I always thought this was a bad user experience, but I knew we were guilty of doing the same thing at Close.io. Not anymore. Now if you login to a trial that has been expired for long enough (i.e. you haven’t checked out the product in a long time), we give you a single click to get started again.

Screenshot 2015-08-04 14.50.22

The same applies for former customers. Once you’ve been around a while, it won’t be uncommon for an early adopter to have churned and then want to give you another shot a year later. We should welcome this!

It’s a super easy change to make and within minutes of pushing this change we already saw its effects pushed to our chat.

Screenshot 2015-08-07 16.53.17

Don’t treat old users worse than new trials!